How I got here

In the summer of 2009, I signed up for my first yoga class. It was outdoors, at an amphitheater on the water. I knew that yoga was supposed to be good for stress management (which I was right about). I thought is was an “easy” workout (which I was wrong about).

When I left that class I knew that I would do yoga for the rest of my life. I felt alive. I felt strong. I felt peace. I didn’t even realize at first that I didn’t light a cigarette on my way home. I was breathing deeper and the air was fresher than I could ever remember.

Later that summer, the dream of teaching yoga seemed like just that, a dream. It became a whisper in the back of my mind. No matter what though, I couldn’t shake the desire to share what I was learning with others. The more benefits bestowed onto me, the more dedicated I became . To sun salutes (asana), to meditation (dhyana), to alternate nostril breathing (pranayama). I even chanted!

After becoming a mother, and making the decision to stay at home, I began to look for something that could fulfill me in the manner that my previous occupations had. I wanted something that could feed my soul and help me maintain my “non-mom” identity. When the opportunity presented to take a yoga teacher training at my favorite studio, with my favorite teacher, it was too important to let pass me by.

In that summer, I met some extraordinary women and dove into parts of myself long pushed aside for motherhood. I felt my yoga practice grow and slowly, but surely, I became a yoga teacher.

Now that this phase of my training is complete, I’m excited to be reaching out into my community and sharing all that I’ve learned. I’m particularly excited about introducing yoga to people that have yet to experience all that can be attained. I hope to be a good example.

I’m grateful to all the family, friends, teachers, classmates, and students who have helped me to arrive at this point.

Namaste!

Leave a Reply

